The United States District Courts are federal courts with general trial jurisdiction in both criminal and civil cases. Each state has at least one federal district court. Under jurisdiction of the U.S. District Court are the U.S. Bankruptcy Judges, the U.S. Magistrate Judges, probation officers, court reporters, and their staffs.

The United States District Court for the District of Maryland was established in 1789 by the federal Judiciary Act of 1789. The Court convened for the first time in 1790 at Baltimore and alternated sessions between Baltimore and Easton until 1822, when the Court moved to the New Masonic Hall on St. Paul Street, Baltimore. The Court moved to its present site in 1976.

Judges of the U.S. District Court are appointed for a life-term by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate. The judge with seniority who also is under 65 years old is designated Chief Judge. Presently, sixteen judges sit on the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland. The Chief Judge and nine judges serve full-time. Six senior judges still hear cases but no longer assume full-time duties.

Former U.S. District Court Judges
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives