J. Harvie Wilkinson III, Virginia, Chief Judge, 2003

Patricia S. Conner, Clerk

U.S. Courthouse Annex
1100 East Main St., 5th floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 771-2213

The United States Courts of Appeals are intermediate appellate courts created in 1891 to relieve overcrowding of the U.S. Supreme Court docket. The appeals courts are empowered to review all decisions of federal district courts, certain special courts, and administrative bodies, except in those few instances where direct review by the U.S. Supreme Court is mandated.

Under the United States Court of Appeals are thirteen judicial circuits. Maryland is part of the fourth judicial circuit along with Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit has fifteen authorized judges. They are appointed for life terms by the President of the United States with the advice and consent of the U.S. Senate. The judge with seniority who is under 65 years of age is designated Chief Judge. The Chief Judge may serve no longer than seven years.

Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives