Chair: Hugh V. Archer (alternate), Pennsylvania

Appointed by President: Bruce Babbit, Secretary of the Interior

Ex officio: Jane T. Nishida, designee of Governor of Maryland; Daniel J. Palm, designee of Governor of New York; James M. Seif, designee of Governor of Pennsylvania.

Maryland alternate: James L. Hearn

Paul O. Swartz, Executive Director

1721 North Front St.
Harrisburg, PA 17102 - 2391
(717) 238-0422
fax: (717) 238-2436

The Susquehanna River Basin Commission was created upon enactment of the Susquehanna River Basin Compact by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the states of New York and Maryland, and Congress. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1967 (Chapter 391, Acts of 1967). The Commission superseded the Interstate Advisory Committee on the Susquehanna River Basin. The Commission formulates plans, policies, and projects for water resources development, conservation, and management of the Basin.

The Commission consists of four members. These include the governor or designee from each signatory state and one member appointed by the President of the United States (Code Environment Article, sec. 5-301).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives