Chair: William L. Rice, Sr., Maryland, 2001

Maryland members appointed by Governor: Paul H. Kellam III, 1999; John T. Parran, 2001.

Ex officio: Sarah J. Taylor-Rogers, Ph.D., designee of Secretary of Natural Resources

Kirby A. Carpenter, Executive Secretary

P. O. Box 9222 Taylor St.
Colonial Beach, VA 22443
(804) 224-7148

The Potomac River Fisheries Commission operates under the Maryland-Virginia Compact of 1958, authorized by Congress. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1959 (Chapter 269, Acts of 1959). The Commission is a semi-autonomous agency, but its work and policies are coordinated closely with the Resource Assessment Service of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources and the Marine Resources Commission of Virginia. Fishery agencies of both states provide law enforcement on the Potomac River for the Commission.

The Potomac River Fisheries Commission works to conserve and improve seafood resources of the Potomac River. The Commission regulates and licenses fisheries and the dredging of soft-shell clams in the Potomac River. The Commission receives proceeds from the sale of crab, oyster, fish and clam licenses, and an oyster inspection tax. Annually, each state appropriates $150,000 to Commission work.

The Commission's eight members include four from each state. Maryland members are the Secretary of Natural Resources or designee and three persons named to four-year terms by the Governor (Code Natural Resources Article, sec. 4-306).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives