Chair: Ben Nelson, Governor of Nebraska

Maryland representative: Parris N. Glendening, Governor

Assistant representative: C. Edmon Larrimore, Chief, Minerals, Oil & Gas Division, Water Management Administration, Department of the Environment

Christine Hansen, Executive Director

P. O. Box 53127
900 Northeast 23rd St.
Oklahoma City, OK 73152 - 3127
(405) 525-3556
(410) 974-3874 (Annapolis)
fax: (405) 525-3592

In 1935, the Interstate Oil Compact was executed in Dallas, Texas. Maryland ratified the Compact in 1959 (Chapter 390, Acts of 1959). The Compact established the Interstate Oil Compact Commission. From its inception, the Commission has been equally concerned with the conservation of oil and gas and, in 1991, adopted its present name. Through the Commission, thirty-five member states work to conserve oil and gas resources by maximizing their production while minimizing waste. The Commission promotes environmental protection in energy-producing states and is a forum for state regulators seeking to standardize laws, rules, and regulations in these states.

Members of the Commission include the governor of each signatory state and an assistant representative who may act in the governor's stead (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 6-401 through 6-404).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives