Chair: James H. Gilford, Ph.D., Maryland

Maryland members appointed by U.S. Secretary of Commerce upon nomination by Governor: James H. Gilford, Ph.D.; W. Peter Jensen; Ricks E. Savage.

David Keifer, Executive Director

Federal Building, Room 2115
300 South New St.
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 674-2331
(410) 974-3558 (Annapolis)

The Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council was established in 1976 in accordance with the federal Magnuson Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976, as amended. For both domestic and foreign fisheries, the law ensures sound fishery conservation and management measures. The act gives the United States exclusive management authority over fisheries (except for highly migratory species of tuna) within a fishery conservation zone of 3 to 200 miles offshore. As one of eight regional fishery management councils, the Mid-Atlantic Council prepares fishery management plans for implementation by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce.

The Council's twenty-three members represent Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Nineteen voting members include the Regional Director, National Marine Fisheries Service; a state fisheries official from each state; and twelve public members appointed to three-year terms by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce upon nomination by the state governors. Four nonvoting members represent the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; U.S. Coast Guard; U.S. Department of State; and Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives