Chair: David T. Ralston, Jr., Virginia, 2000
Vice-Chair: Carolyn Boone Lewis, District of Columbia, 2001

Maryland members appointed by Governor: Norman M. Glasgow, Jr., Esq., 1998; Weldon H. Latham, Esq., 2002.

James A. Wilding, General Manager
James E. Bennett, Deputy General Manager

44 Canal Center Plaza
Alexandria, VA 22314 - 1562
(703) 417-8740
(703) 417-8600
fax: (703) 417-8967
World Wide Web:

The Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority was created in 1986 by District of Columbia and Virginia laws. An independent regional body, the Authority operates Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (formerly Washington National Airport) and Washington Dulles International Airport. Previously, both airports were run by the federal government. Now, the airports are operated under a 50-year lease between the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority (P.L. 99-500, Title VI).

Self-supporting, the Authority uses aircraft landing fees and revenues from concessions to fund operations. As an airport operator, the Authority can issue tax-exempt bonds to finance major capital improvements.

The Authority's Board of Directors has thirteen members who serve six-year terms. Five are appointed by the Governor of Virginia, three by the Mayor of the District of Columbia, two by the Governor of Maryland, and three by the President of the United States.

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives