President: Carol D. Stockley, Maryland, 1996

1st Vice-President: Laura Belle Gordy, Virginia, 1997

2nd Vice-President: Francis X. Raskauskas, Delaware, 1995

Treasurer: James W. Taylor, Maryland, 1997

Maryland members appointed by Governor: Lewis R. Riley, 1993; Albert B. Atkinson, 1994; one vacancy.

Dale A. Maginnis, Acting Executive Director & Secretary

P. O. Box 4277
Salisbury, MD 21803 - 4277
(410) 742-9271

The Delmarva Advisory Council was formed in 1964 as a voluntary association by the governors of Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia within the region known as the Delmarva Peninsula. In 1984, Maryland joined her neighbor states in establishing the Council by statute (Chapter 671, Acts of 1984).

To advance the economic and cultural welfare of the people of the Delmarva Peninsula, the Council advises, counsels, and assists government agencies and private organizations concerned with developing the resources and economy of the region. The Council helps governments work together and resolve interjurisdictional disputes in a public forum.

The Council is composed of five gubernatorial appointees from each state, as well as county officials, designated municipal officials, and citizens. Maryland financial support for the Council comes from participating Maryland counties and from the State through the budget for the Department of Business and Economic Development (Code 1957, Art. 32B, secs. 1-101 through 1-111).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives