Chair: Carol M. Browner, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Ex officio: Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland; Thomas J. Ridge, Governor of Pennsylvania; George F. Allen, Governor of Virginia; Marion S. Barry, Jr., Mayor, District of Columbia; Noah W. Wenger, Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission.

c/ o Chesapeake Bay Commission
60 West St., Suite 200
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 263-3420

The Chesapeake Executive Council was established by the Chesapeake Bay Agreement of 1983 to coordinate the work of restoring and protecting Chesapeake Bay. In accordance with the 1987 Chesapeake Bay Agreement, the Council is the governing body for these efforts. Parties to the 1987 Agreement are the State of Maryland; the Commonwealths of Pennsylvania and Virginia; the District of Columbia; the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, representing the federal government; and the Chesapeake Bay Commission. The Council's six members serve ex officio.

Chair: David Brubaker, Pennsylvania

Maryland members appointed by Governor: Elizabeth I. Bauereis, Ph.D.; James A. Soltesz; Lina Vlavianos; Mary Roe Walkup.

Maryland at-large members appointed by Board of Directors, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay: Mark Kalish; G. Steele Phillips; Larry Schweiger.

Chair: William Matuszeski, Maryland

Maryland members representing State agencies: Verna E. Harrison, Dept. of Natural Resources; Royden N. Powell III, Dept. of Agriculture.

Committee & Subcommittee chairs:
B. Frank Courtright (Maryland), Air Quality Coordination Workgroup
Jon M. Capacasa (Pennsylvania), Budget Steering Committee
Christina Novak (Pennsylvania), Communications Subcommittee
Robert E. Magnien, Ph.D. (Maryland), Data Center Workgroup
William Matuszeski (Maryland), Federal Agencies Committee
Michael Thomas (Virginia), Land Growth & Stewardship Subcommittee
Carolyn V. Watson (Maryland), Living Resources Subcommittee
James R. Collier (District of Columbia), Modeling Subcommittee
Paul O. Swartz (Pennsylvania), Monitoring Subcommittee
William G. Browning (Virginia), Nutrients Subcommittee
Michael S. Haire (Maryland), Toxics Subcommittee

Chesapeake Bay Program Office
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
410 Severn Ave., Suite 109
Annapolis, MD 21403
(410) 267-5700

The Implementation Committee was established in 1984 by the Chesapeake Bay Agreement of 1983. The Committee advises the Chesapeake Executive Council on implementing the Chesapeake Bay Program.

Chair: Gary G. Allen, Maryland

Maryland members appointed by Governor: Robert W. Erickson; Murray D. Levy; Kurt Lipholdt; Margaret R. Myers; George M. O'Donnell; Edward F. Sharp.

Anthony D. Redman, Executive Director

416 Goldsborough St.
Easton, MD 21601
(410) 822-9630

In accordance with the 1987 Chesapeake Bay Agreement, the Governor appointed the Local Government Advisory Committee on the Chesapeake Bay Program in April 1988. The Committee presents to the Chesapeake Executive Council the concerns and opinions of the local governments in the Chesapeake Bay watershed. It also informs local governments about the Chesapeake Bay Program.

The Committee has twenty-four members. Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia each are represented by six members appointed by their respective governors. The District of Columbia is represented by six members appointed by the Mayor.


Maryland members appointed by Governor: Clarence I. Laird; Kurt Lipholdt.

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives