Maryland members appointed by Governor: Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment, 1999 (Richard W. Collins, alternate); Martin P. Wasserman, M.D., J.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene, 1999 (Georges C. Benjamin, M.D., alternate).

Contact: Ted Elkin

c/o Waste Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment
2500 Broening Highway
Baltimore, MD 21224
(410) 631-3441

In 1986, Maryland ratified the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact (Chapter 33, Acts of 1986). Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia also have ratified the Compact. The Compact established the Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission to assure interstate cooperation for the proper packaging and transportation of low-level radioactive wastes. The Commission identifies a host state (based on the volume and curie content of radioactive waste generated) to receive and dispose of radioactive waste from party states. Costs and benefits are distributed equitably among party states. After establishment of a regional facility, the Commission may ban wastes generated outside the region.

The Commission designates as a host state any party state that generates 25 percent or more of Pennsylvania's volume or total curie content of low-level radioactive waste, based on a comparison of averages over three successive years. A host state must begin immediate development of a regional facility designed to serve at least thirty years. Party states exempt from host state responsibilities continue as party states provided they generate less than the threshold amount of low-level radioactive waste over successive three-year periods.

The Commission conducts research and establishes regulations to reduce the volume of low-level radioactive waste. The Commission also prepares contingency plans in the event the regional facility is closed; collects fees from party states until the regional facility becomes available; and enters into temporary agreements for emergency disposal.

Appointed by the governor, two members from each party state serve on the Commission, as do four members from each host state. After the host state has selected a site for a regional facility, the governor from that state appoints to the Commission an additional member who is a resident of the county or municipality where the facility will be located. Based in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, the Commission provides for its own organization and procedures, by-laws, rules, and regulations (Code Environment Article, secs. 7-301 through 7-306).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives