Federal Co-Chair: Jesse L. White, Jr.

States' Co-Chair: D. Kirk Fordice, Governor of Mississippi

Ex officio: Parris N. Glendening, Governor (Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of Planning, alternate).

Thomas M. Hunter, Executive Director

1666 Connecticut Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20235
(202) 884-7700
World Wide Web:

The Appalachian Regional Commission was created by the federal Appalachian Regional Development Act of 1965 (P.L. 89-4). The Commission supports economic development of the Appalachian region through allocation of federal funds to member states. The Commission can act only on proposals submitted to it by state members.

The thirteen-state Appalachian region includes the Western Maryland counties of Washington, Allegany, and Garrett. To develop the region, the Commission plans and coordinates programs to construct a highway system, access roads, health centers, vocational schools, and sewage treatment plants. The Commission also works to develop land, timber and water resources; rehabilitate areas damaged by strip and surface mining; and establish local development districts to support local economic development.

The Governor serves ex officio as the Maryland member and designates an alternate (Code 1957, Art. 83A, sec. 6-402).

Interstate Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives