John F. Wood, Jr., Chair

Southern Maryland Senate Delegation: Roy P. Dyson; Thomas M. Middleton; Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.; John F. Wood, Jr.

Southern Maryland House of Delegates Delegation: Thomas E. (Tim) Hutchins; Samuel C. Linton; Van T. Mitchell; Anthony J. O'Donnell; George W. Owings III; John F. Slade III.

Calvert County Commissioners: Patrick M. Buehler; Mark R. Frazer; Linda L. Kelley; Mary M. Krug; Hagner R. Mister.

Charles County Commissioners: Marland Deen; Robert J. Fuller; Marvin C. Kisamore; Murray D. Levy; W. Daniel Mayer.

St. Mary's County Commissioners: Paul W. Chesser; D. Christian Burgman; Frances P. Eagan; Lawrence D. Jarboe; Barbara R. Thompson.

Appointed by Southern Maryland Municipal Association: Ruth W. Proffitt

At-Large members: Donald L. Brown; John T. Parran, Jr.; John C. Smith, Jr.

Nonvoting members: John Buckmaster, Brian W. Clarke, David W. Cooksey, William Gray (County Economic Development Commissions); Joseph F. Anderson, John Ward (County Planning Commissions); Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of Planning; James R. Gatto, Dept. of Business & Economic Development.

Gary V. Hodge, Executive Director

P. O. Box 1634
Charlotte Hall, MD 20622
(301) 884-2144
(301) 870-2520 (Washington, DC area)

Formed on December 6, 1964, the Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland fosters the economic and social development of the southern Maryland counties (Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's). In 1965, the Governor recognized the Council as the cooperative planning and development agency for Southern Maryland. The Council was established by statute in 1966 and became a tax-exempt corporation in 1970 (Chapter 586, Acts of 1966; Chapter 573, Acts of 1970). The Council's enabling law was reenacted as State general legislation in 1976 (Chapter 708, Acts of 1976). In 1984, the status of the Council as an independent agency was confirmed (Chapter 373, Acts of 1984).

The Council brings together local, State and federal resources to address issues in economic development; environmental protection; and regional resource management, which includes transportation, utilities, urban growth and development, housing, and public facilities and services. Annually, the Council submits its proposed programs and operating budget for the next fiscal year to the Department of Business and Economic Development. At least every four years, the Council reevaluates the General Development Plan for Southern Maryland, following the election of State and local officials (Chapter 36, Acts of 1979).

The Council consists of thirty-seven members. Twenty-nine are voting members, and eight nonvoting (Code 1957, Art. 20).

Intercounty Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives