Chair: Robert E. Terrill, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Allegany County

Ex officio: Donald L. Alexander, Ed.D., President, Allegany Community College; Catherine R. Gira, Ph.D., President, Frostburg State University; Jerome J. Ryscavage, Ph.D., Superintendent of Schools, Garrett County; Stephen J. Herman, Ph.D., President, Garrett Community College; Wayne F. Gersen, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Washington County; Norman P. Shea, Ph.D., President, Hagerstown Junior College; Donald N. Langenberg, Ph.D., Chancellor, University of Maryland System (George L. Marx, Ph.D., alternate).

Frank C. Peto, Executive Director, Executive Secretary-Treasurer of Board

153 Baltimore St.
Cumberland, MD 21502
(301) 777-3525
fax: (301) 777-5982

The Regional Education Service Agency of Appalachian Maryland (RESA) works to raise the educational level of residents in Appalachian Maryland (Allegany, Garrett and Washington counties). The Agency originated in 1967 as the Educational Subcommittee of the Appalachian Regional Commission. A formal organization by 1970, it became a separate administrative unit of government in 1973, authorized by statute and by the Attorney General's approval of a joint agreement by the eight member institutions (Chapter 533, Acts of 1973).

The Agency fosters cooperation among educational institutions and organizations and establishes goals, policies, and procedures for regional education projects, which it plans, coordinates, and implements. It promotes the improvement of educational, scientific and literary facilities and programs for participating schools. To the Governor, the Agency provides technical assistance and recommendations concerning education's role in developing the region. These recommendations are the basis for education programs funded by the Appalachian Regional Commission through the Department of Housing and Community Development.

The Agency helps member institutions identify needs that could be met by regional programs or services. It also helps develop, implement, review and evaluate interagency and institutional projects.

For Allegany County, member institutions include Allegany Community College, Frostburg State University, and the Allegany County Board of Education. For Garrett County, they are Garrett Community College and the Garrett County Board of Education. Washington County is represented by Hagerstown Junior College and the Washington County Board of Education. The University of Maryland System also is a member.

The Agency's Board of Directors consists of the chief executives of the eight signatory members. Operations and programs of the Agency are supported by budget allocations of the member institutions and from grants and contracts with local, State and federal agencies.

Intercounty Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives