Chair (chosen by Council): John G. Gary, Anne Arundel County Executive

Ex officio: Kurt L. Schmoke, Mayor of Baltimore; C. A. (Dutch) Ruppersberger III, Baltimore County Executive; Donald I. Dell, designee of President, Carroll County Board of County Commissioners; Eileen M. Rehrmann, Harford County Executive; Charles I. Ecker, Howard County Executive.

Paul R. Farragut, Executive Director

601 North Howard St.
Baltimore, MD 21201 - 4585
(410) 333-1750

The Baltimore Metropolitan Council was created in 1992 as the regional planning agency for metropolitan Baltimore (Chapter 201, Acts of 1992). Replacing the Baltimore Regional Council of Governments, the Council promotes cooperation among local governments in the Baltimore metropolitan area to share information, collect data, and solve common problems. It also anticipates future needs in infrastructure, the environment, and economic development. Under formal agreements among its members, the Council provides regional planning for solid waste management and transportation.

The Council is composed of the chief elected officials of Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford and Howard counties, Maryland (Code 1957, Art. 78D, secs. 1-7).

Chair (chosen by Board): Joseph Bartenfelder, Baltimore County Council

Diane R. Evans, Anne Arundel County Council; vacancy, Baltimore City Council; Donald I. Dell, Carroll County Board of County Commissioners; Joanne S. Parrott, Harford County Council; Dennis R. Schrader, Howard County Council.

(410) 333-1750

Representatives of the legislative bodies of each county form the Baltimore Metropolitan Council Advisory Board. The six-member Board meets three times a year to provide a legislative perspective on budget issues, programs, and policy.

Chair (chosen by Committee): Jon Arason, designee of Mayor of Annapolis

Harvey Gold, Anne Arundel County; Jeffrey Drinkwater, Baltimore City; J. Craig Forrest, Baltimore County; Gregory Jones, Carroll County; Stoney E. Fraley, Harford County; Carl Balser, Howard County.

Ex officio: Jon Arason, designee of Mayor of Annapolis; Frederick P. Rappe, Jr., designee of Secretary of Transportation.

Nonvoting members: Diane L. Franks, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Christine Wells, Office of Planning.

Staff: Harvey S. Bloom (410) 333-4743

The Transportation Steering Committee of the Baltimore Metropolitan Council was established by a May 1992 memorandum of understanding among the member local governments, the Department of Transportation, and the Governor. The Committee serves as the metropolitan planning organization for federal transportation certification and funding.

The Committee consists of representatives from the six member governments; the Mayor of Annapolis; the Secretary of the Environment; the Secretary of Transportation; and a representative of the Office of Planning.


Mary A. Logan, Coordinator (410) 333-4881

The Baltimore Metropolitan Council operates the Regional Information Center, an urban planning and regional library associated with the Enoch Pratt Free Library. The Center provides data on demographic and economic trends, transportation issues, environmental management, waste management, and water quality.

Intercounty Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives