Circuit Courts
County Courts, 1777-1851
Circuit Courts, 1851-

Baltimore City Circuit Court
Baltimore City Court of Oyer & Terminer & Gaol Delivery, 1789-1816
Baltimore City Court, 1817-1851

Baltimore City Court of Common Pleas, 1851-1980
Baltimore City Superior Court, 1851-1980
Baltimore City Criminal Court, 1851-1980
Circuit Court of Baltimore City, 1851-1980
Baltimore City Court, 1867-1980
Baltimore City Circuit Court no. 2, 1888-1980

Baltimore City Supreme Bench, 1980-1983
Baltimore City Circuit Court, 1983-

In each county and in Baltimore City is a Circuit Court. The Circuit Court has original jurisdiction over more serious criminal and civil cases and also hears appeals from decisions in the District Court. Circuit Court judges are nominated by special judicial selection commissions and appointed by the Governor with Senate consent. At the first statewide election occurring at least one year after their appointment, Circuit Court judges must successfully stand for election to continue in office for a term of fifteen years.

Maryland Judiciary

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives