Joseph F. Murphy, Jr., Chief Judge, Court of Special Appeals, At Large, 2004

Vacancy, Judge, 1st Appellate Circuit, 2002
James R. Eyler, Judge, 2nd Appellate Circuit, 2006
William W. Wenner, Judge, 3rd Appellate Circuit, 2006
James P. Salmon, Judge, 4th Appellate Circuit, 2006
Raymond G. Thieme, Jr., Judge, 5th Appellate Circuit, 1998
Arrie W. Davis, Judge, 6th Appellate Circuit, 2002
Andrew L. Sonner, Judge, 7th Appellate Circuit, 1998
Deborah Sweet Byrnes, Judge, At Large, 1998
Glenn T. Harrell, Jr., Judge, At Large, 2002
Ellen L. Hollander, Judge, At Large, 2006
James A. Kenney III, Judge, At Large, 1998
Charles E. Moylan, Jr., Judge, At Large, 1998

[Color photograph of Murphy Courts of Appeal Building]
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building. Photo by James Hefelfinger
(Hefelfinger Collection, MSA SC 1885-758-2, Maryland State Archives)

Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-1450
World Wide Web:

Appellate Circuits


Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Origin & Functions


  • 1st Appellate Judicial Circuit (Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico & Worcester Counties)
  • 2nd Appellate Judicial Circuit (Baltimore County & Harford County.)
  • 3rd Appellate Judicial Circuit (Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard & Washington Counties)
  • 4th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Prince George's County)
  • 5th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles & St. Mary's Counties)
  • 6th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Baltimore City)
  • 7th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Montgomery County)

  • Map of Appellate Circuits



    Joseph F. Murphy, Jr., Chief Judge (designated by Governor)
    (410) 887-3206
    (410) 260-1465


    Deborah Sweet Byrnes, Judge (410) 887-2641
    Arrie W. Davis, Judge (410) 333-3200
    James R. Eyler, Judge (410) 887-3286
    Glenn T. Harrell, Jr., Judge (301) 952-2716
    Ellen L. Hollander, Judge (410) 333-6241
    James A. Kenney III, Judge (301) 475-2591
    Charles E. Moylan, Jr., Judge (410) 727-2470
    James P. Salmon, Judge (301) 952-5855
    Andrew L. Sonner, Judge (301) 217-8100
    Raymond G. Thieme, Jr., Judge (410) 260-1520
    William W. Wenner, Judge (301) 694-1842
    one vacancy

    Maryland Judiciary

    Maryland Manual On-Line

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

    July 10, 1998   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives