Chair (chosen by Governor): Catherine D. DeAngelis, M.D., designee of President, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Appointed by Governor: Susan Anthony; Georges C. Benjamin, M.D.; Frank D. Boston, Jr.; Lyn Brooks; Katherine (Katie) Dover; Kelley Ennis; Pearl S. German, Sc.D.; Susan R. Guarnieri, M.D.; James A. Guest; Florence Hamlin; Elizabeth Hurwitz-Schwab; Cynthia E. Kielinen, Ed.D.; Lainy M. LeBow-Sachs; Gail S. Lemaire, R.N.; Sally J. Michel; Sr. Rosemarie T. Nassif, Ph.D.; Sandra Pinckney; Vivian W. Pinn, M.D.; Alexandra Pruner; Patricia A. Schroeder; Ebony Smith; Anne Stoline, M.D.; Deborah Wheat; Mary M. Woolley.

Ex officio: Martin P. Wasserman, M.D., J.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Alvin C. Collins, Secretary of Human Resources; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; Sharon L. O'Keefe, designee of President & Chief Executive Officer, University of Maryland Medical System Corp.

Staff: Elizabeth G. Barnard

c/o Office of Women's Health
Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston St., Room 505
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-6817

The Commission on Women's Health started as the Governor's Commission on Women's Health. Formed in February 1993, it concluded its work in November 1993. In July 1994, however, the Governor established the Commission on Women's Health as a continuing body as recommended by the former commission (Executive Order 01.01.1994.18).

The Commission seeks to coordinate programs for education, prevention, treatment, and improved access to health care for women. For the preventive health needs of Maryland women, the Commission promotes public/ private partnerships to provide screenings for osteoporosis and high blood pressure. To improve the health of Maryland women, the Commission will sponsor a second major exposition on women's health in March 1997. The Commission also is implementing recommendations of the former Governor's Commission on Women's Health.

Appointed by the Governor, the Commission has from twelve to thirty-three members who serve three-year terms. Five members serve ex officio.

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives