Chair (chosen by Governor): Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget & Management

Appointed by Governor: LaVerne Smith Baykin; Frankie L. Blackburn; Donna P. Crocker; Vivian M. Dodson; James A. Gabriel; Myra A. Gold; Robert V. Hess; Betty J. Humphrey; Richard S. Madaleno; Vincent L. Marando; Edwin G. Richards; Herman R. Rosenthal, Esq.; Lorraine M. Sheehan; Kinaya Coleman Sokoya; Bruce J. Zimmerman; two vacancies.

Appointed by Senate President: Thomas McLain (Mac) Middleton; one vacancy.

Appointed by House Speaker: Talmadge Branch; Henry B. Heller.

Ex officio: Celester A. Hall, Jr., designee of Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Lorraine Sorbello, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Raymond A. Skinner, designee of Secretary of Housing & Community Development; A. Susan Fernandez, Esq., designee of Secretary of Human Resources; John P. O'Connor, designee of Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; Sharon L. Nathanson, designee of State Superintendent of Schools; James Macgill, Jr., designee of Director on Aging; James C. Thomas, designee of Director of Planning; Kenneth H. Rumsey, designee of Special Secretary for Children, Youth, & Families.

Ex officio (nonvoting): Michael Sanderson, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Association of Counties; Scott A. Hancock, Executive Director, Maryland Municipal League; Peter V. Berns, Executive Director, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations

Staff: Linda C. Janey, Office of Planning; Justin A. Kopca, Dept. of Budget & Management.

c/o Office of Planning
301 West Preston St., Suite 1104
Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2305
(410) 767-4500

The Governor formed the Partnership Policy Council on Block Grants in May 1996 (Executive Order 01.01.1996.12). Since Congress is considering a change of certain programs administered by State and local government into block grants, the Council will evaluate the policies and processes involved with federal block grants. The Council is to review related federal legislation and regulations and propose a transition plan for each grant from categorical to block grant. The Council also will help State government agencies plan for and use these grants.

In July 1998, the Council will submit its initial report on guiding principles for State block grant policy.

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives