George L. Russell, Jr., Esq., Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Aris Tee Allen, Jr.; Nancy Brennan; Harold A. Carter, Ph.D.; Spencer R. Crew, Ph.D.; Samuel T. Daniels, Sr.; Vernon N. Dobson; Louis J. Grasmick; Carla D. Hayden, Ph.D.; Burney J. Hollis, Ph.D.; Susan M. Jones; Doris H. Ligon; Franklin M. Reid III, Ph.D.; Barbara Wells Sarudy; Walker S. Thomas, Ph.D.; Linda Pinder Wheatley.

Ex officio: James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Acting Secretary of Business & Economic Development; Patricia J. Payne, Secretary of Housing & Community Development; Kurt L. Schmoke, Mayor of Baltimore City.

Nikki Smith, Executive Director

c/o Division of Historical & Cultural Programs
Dept. of Housing & Community Development
100 Community Place
Crownsville, MD 21032
(410) 514-7654

Annual Report to Governor due Dec. 1.

The Governor established the Maryland Museum of African-American History and Culture Commission in August 1994 (Executive Order 01.01.1994.23). The sixteen-member Commission will plan construction, operation, and programming of the Maryland Museum of African-American History and Culture. A State facility, the Museum is expected to open in the year 2000 at the corner of Pratt and President Streets in Baltimore. The Commission will secure government and private foundation funding for the project as well as community and technical support for its operation.

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives