John F. McAuliffe, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Judith R. Catterton, Esq.; Walter E. Chase, Sr.; LaMonte E. Cooke; Marna McLendon, Esq.; Roberta R. Roper; Charles F. Wellford, Ph.D.

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: Joseph H. H. Kaplan; Alexander Wright, Jr.

Appointed by Senate President: Jennie M. Forehand; Delores G. Kelley; Christopher J. McCabe.

Appointed by House Speaker: James M. Harkins; Kenneth C. Montague, Jr.; Joseph F. Vallario, Jr.

Ex officio: Howard S. Chasanow, designee of Chief Judge, Court of Appeals; J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Attorney General; Stuart O. Simms, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Stephen E. Harris, Esq., Public Defender.

c/o Judicial Center, Room 300
50 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
(301) 217-7630
fax: (301) 217-7732
World Wide Web:

Final Report to Governor & General Assembly due December 31, 1998 (Chapter 544, Acts of 1997).

The Maryland Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy was created in 1996 (Chapter 563, Acts of 1996). The Commission is to evaluate Maryland sentencing and correctional laws with regard to sentencing guidelines, parole, mandatory supervision, and correctional options. To help determine what resources would be required to implement its recommendations, the Commission will develop a simulation model of the correctional population.

The Commission consists of nineteen members. Its interim report was submitted to the Governor and General Assembly on December 30, 1996. Authorization for the Commission continues until July 1, 1999 (Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 18-312).

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives