James J. Cromwell, Esq., Chair

Appointed by Governor: Eleanor M. Carey, Esq.; William E. Hanna, Jr.; John W. Hardwicke, Esq.; LaMont W. Flanagan, Esq.; George McQuade Lipman, Esq.; Charles F. Mades; Catherine McCullough Shultz, Esq.; Stuart O. Simms; William H. Stagg; Frank R. Weathersbee, Esq.; Lois Y. Whitaker.

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: P. Dennis Belman, Esq.; James J. Cromwell, Esq.; Vivian Jenkins; Joseph H. H. Kaplan; Norman J. Moore; Theresa A. Nolan; Dana C. Petersen, Esq.; George B. Riggin, Jr., Esq.; Robert F. Sweeney; Edward L. Utz; Paul H. Weinstein; Alan M. Wilner.

Appointed by Senate President: F. Vernon Boozer; Ralph M. Hughes; Ida G. Ruben; Norman R. Stone, Jr.

Appointed by House Speaker: Rushern L. Baker III; Thomas E. Dewberry; Richard La Vay; Mary Louise Preis.

Contact: Albert Winchester III

P. O. Box 49
196 Duke of Gloucester St.
Annapolis, MD 21404
(410) 269-6465
fax: (410) 974-8244

The Commission on the Future of Maryland Courts was established in 1995 (Chapter 561, Acts of 1995). The Commission is to recommend ways to coordinate and promote fair and efficient criminal justice and public safety systems. It will recommend innovative mechanisms to deal with crimes by juveniles and promptly resolve domestic cases by court-related social services to families and children. To reduce costs and improve efficiency, the Commission is to consider modern court administration. In addition, the Commission will recommend ways to ensure the fair selection and evaluation of judges, prosecutors, clerks, and other justice system officials; protect the jury system and preserve its independence; and adequately fund the court system and its agencies.

On January 18, 1996, an interim report was submitted to the Governor. By December 15, 1996, the Commission will recommend to the Governor and General Assembly further changes.

The Comission has thirty-one members. The Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals appoints twelve members. Eleven are named by the Governor, four by the Senate President, and four by the House Speaker. Authorization for the Commission ends January 1997 (Code Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, secs. 13-701 through 13-707).

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives