O. James Lighthizer, Chair (chosen by Governor)

George F. Brigham, Jr., Vice-Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Robert J. Brugger, Ph.D.; J. Henry Butta; Agnes Kane Callum; H. Grant Dehart; John W. Durel, Ph.D.; Steven F. Ernst; Lester G. Fant III, Esq.; Frances H. Kennedy; Alvin H. Luckenbach, Ph.D.; Charles McC. Mathias; Brig. Gen. Harold W. Nelson; Richard E. Roulette; A. Elizabeth Watson.

Appointed by Senate President: David R. Craig

Appointed by House Speaker: John P. Donoghue

Ex officio: John T. Willis, designee of Governor; John R. Griffin, Secretary of Natural Resources; David L. Winstead, Secretary of Transportation; Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of Planning; J. Rodney Little, State Historic Preservation Officer.

Ross M. Kimmel
c/o State Forest & Park Service
Dept. of Natural Resources
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-8164

Sylvia Ramsey
c/o Office of Secretary
Dept. of Transportation
10 Elm Road
BWI Airport, MD 21240
(410) 864-1100

Annual Report to Governor due Dec. 1.

The Governor started the Maryland Civil War Heritage Commission in February 1992 (Executive Order 01.01.1992.07). In keeping with the American Battlefield Protection Program of the U.S. Department of the Interior, the Commission works to protect Civil War sites and structures in Maryland. The Commission coordinates Maryland's participation in the Program with the federal government and private foundations to secure support and financial resources for protecting these sites and structures. The Commission also advises State government agencies on matters relating to Civil War sites and structures.

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives