Chair: Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment

Designated by Senate President: one vacancy

Designated by House Speaker: Shirley Nathan-Pulliam

Ex officio: Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget & Management; Eugene R. Lynch, Secretary of General Services; Martin P. Wasserman, M.D., J.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; John P. O'Connor, Acting Secretary of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation; Stuart O. Simms, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; David L. Winstead, Secretary of Transportation; Donald N. Langenberg, Ph.D., Chancellor, University System of Maryland.

Frank D. Whitehead, Executive Director

c/o Air & Radiation Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment
2500 Broening Highway
Baltimore, MD 21224
(410) 631-3200

Annual Report & consolidated budget for asbestos management in State facilities to Governor & General Assembly due Oct. 1.

The Asbestos Oversight Committee was established by the Governor in November 1987 (Executive Order 01.01.1987.22). The Committee coordinates asbestos management in State facilities.

The Committee reviews, evaluates, and promulgates asbestos policy, procedures, and practices consistent with the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR), the Maryland Occupational Safety and Health Law, and regulations of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration. The Committee also sets priorities for project proposals to abate asbestos hazards and establishes guidelines and criteria for abatement contracts. Meetings are held quarterly.

Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives