Louis L. Goldstein, Chair, 1997

Appointed by Governor: Kevin O'Keefe, 1998; Lawrence S. Wescott, Esq., 1998; Jeannie M. Baliles, 1999; Joyce Huber Cafritz, 1999; Craig Lewis, 2000; L. Clifford Schroeder, 2000; Alonzo G. Decker, Jr., 2001; John A. Moag, Jr., Esq., 2001; Douglas L. Becker, 2002; Charles Lewis Lea, Jr., 2002; Sara P. H. Hopkins, 2003; Sheryl V. Kerr, 2003.

Elected by Alumni: William B. Johnson, 1997; Karen G. Price, 1997; Brien E. Kehoe, 1998; Jane Bradley Lowe, 1998; Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, M.D., 1999; Clare S. (Pat) Ingersoll, 1999; Holt L. (Jay) Marchant, Jr., 2000; Zung Nguyen, 2000; David G. Burton, 2001; Susan T. Denton, 2001; George L. Buckless, Jr., 2002; Bonnie Abrams Travieso, 2002.

Elected by Board: Sally Hopkins, 1997; Dietrich H. Steffens, 1997; Louis L. Goldstein, 1998; Alexander G. Jones, 1998; Jack S. Griswold, 1999; Mark A. Schulman, 1999; William C. Baker, 2000; Richard Harwood, 2000. Henry C. Beck, 2001; B. Francis Saul III, 2001; Dale P. Adams, 2002; Libby Anderson Cater, 2002.

Ex officio: John S. Toll, Ph.D., President, Washington College

c/o President's Office
Bunting Hall, Washington College
300 Washington Ave.
Chestertown, MD 21620 - 1197
(410) 778-2800
1-800-422-1782 (toll free)
World Wide Web: http://www.washcoll.edu/

Established in 1782, Washington College is a coeducational liberal arts and sciences college in historic Chestertown (Chapter 8, Acts of April Session 1782). Unlike many other institutions of a similar vintage, Washington College has remained committed to the primacy of the liberal arts. With approximately 850 undergraduates, the College offers 21 majors in the liberal arts and sciences and supplements its core curriculum with internships and research projects, special programs in environmental science and public affairs, and opportunities for student involvement as volunteers within the community. The College also has a literary press, a forum for guest speakers, and lecture series bringing noted writers and other public figures to campus.

Washington College may be best known for its Sophie Kerr Prize, the largest undergraduate literary prize in the nation, awarded to the graduating senior who shows the most promise for a literary career. The College also has earned national recognition for its sophisticated academic computing program that features a campuswide network, direct access to the Internet, an on-line library catalog, and the State's first totally electronic classroom.

Graduate degrees in psychology, history, and English, and accreditation courses for teachers are offered by the College. It is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, and the American Chemical Society.

The College is governed by a board of thirty-seven members named The Visitors and Governors of Washington College in the State of Maryland. The Governor appoints twelve members. Alumni of the College elect twelve additional members, and the Board of Visitors and Governors itself chooses another twelve. Elected by the Board, the final member is the College President. Members serve six-year terms (Chapter 594, Acts of 1986).

Maryland Independent Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives