Paul B. Meritt, Chair, 1999

Sheila K. Riggs, Vice-Chair, 1998

Appointed by Governor (who names chair & vice-chair): Thomas E. Dobyns, Esq., 1996; Richard W. Phoebus, Sr., 1997; Paige T. Davis, 1998; Carl J. Schramm, Ph.D., 1999; Leonard I. Frenkil, 2000; Robert D. H. Harvey, 2000.

Ex officio: Richard N. Dixon, State Treasurer

Donald P. Carter, Executive Director

22 East Fayette St., 4th floor
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 837-6220
fax: (410) 685-1611

Annual Report to Governor due within first ninety days of each fiscal year.

The Maryland Health and Higher Educational Facilities Authority was created in 1970 (Chapter 408, Acts of 1970). The Authority assists hospitals and institutions of higher education with financing for construction, site acquisition, and capital equipment. Private nonprofit health and higher educational facilities may use the Authority as a vehicle to issue tax-exempt bonds and thereby pay a lower rate of interest.

The Authority consists of nine members. Eight are appointed to five-year terms by the Governor. The State Treasurer serves ex officio. Annually, the Governor designates the chair and vice-chair. With the Governor's approval, the Authority names the Executive Director (Code 1957, Art. 43C).

Maryland Independent Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives