Harry D. Shapiro, Esq., Chair

Representing Maryland Higher Education Commission: Edward O. Clarke, Jr.; Osborne A. Payne; Charles B. Saunders, Jr.

Representing State Board of Education: Christopher T. Cross; Christopher E. Grant; Harry D. Shapiro, Esq.

Ex officio: Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; Patricia S. Florestano, Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education.

Staff: Robert C. Rice, Ph.D.

c/o State Board of Education
200 West Baltimore St.
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-0467

The Education Coordinating Committee was formed in 1976 (Chapter 538, Acts of 1976). The Committee coordinates the policies and activities of the State Board of Education, the State Superintendent of Schools, the Maryland Higher Education Commission, and the Secretary of Higher Education. The Committee studies and makes recommendations on policies concerning elementary, secondary or higher education.

The Committee is comprised of eight members. Three are selected by the president of the State Board of Education; and three by the chair of the Maryland Higher Education Commission. Two serve ex officio (Code Education Article, secs. 24-101 through 24-107).

Maryland Independent Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives