Arthur Dorman, Chair

Appointed by Governor: James C. Johnson, 1997; Kenneth A. Jones, 1997; Calman J. Zamoiski, Jr., 1997; Frances H. Flanigan, 1999; Clarence A. Hawkins, 1999; Carla D. Hayden, Ph.D., 1999; Harry R. Hughes, 1999; Arnall Patz, M.D., 1999; Mary Dulaney-James, Esq., 2000; Shepard Krech, Jr., 2000; JoAnn Roberts, 2000; Glenn C. Etelson, Esq., 2001; David M. Pittenger, 2001; one vacancy.

Ex officio: Royden N. Powell III, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Peter S. Tinsley, designee of Secretary of the Environment; John R. Griffin, Secretary of Natural Resources; Arthur Dorman, designee of Senate President; Wheeler R. Baker, designee of House Speaker.

David A. Minges, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 200A
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2941
fax: (410) 269-0387
World Wide Web:

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly.

The Chesapeake Bay Trust was created as a nonprofit organization by the General Assembly in 1985 (Chapter 789, Acts of 1985). The Trust's mandate is to promote public awareness and participation in restoring and protecting the water quality and the aquatic and land resources of Chesapeake Bay.

Although established as an instrumentality of the State, the Trust operates with independent financial and policy-making status. It is not subject to the legislative appropriation process and receives no public tax dollars.

To accomplish its mission, the Trust seeks contributions from the business community and private citizens and distributes that financial support to groups undertaking projects to help the Bay. Grant recipients are nonprofit organizations, civic and community groups, schools, and local public agencies that have conducted stream cleanups, tree and marsh grass plantings, erosion control projects, water quality studies, and habitat restorations. The Trust also has supported enhancement of environmental education centers and development of educational materials to inform people of all ages about the Bay.

In addition to donations from businesses and private citizens, the Trust receives the proceeds from sales of the commemorative Chesapeake Bay license plate, as well as a portion of gifts to the Chesapeake Bay and Endangered Species Fund via the tax check-off on the Maryland State income tax return. The tax check-off, created in 1989, enables Marylanders to contribute for Bay cleanup and programs that aid endangered species.

The Trust is governed by a nineteen-member Board of Trustees. The Governor appoints fourteen of its members to four-year terms. Five members serve ex officio (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-1901 through 8-1910).

Maryland Independent Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives