Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Patricia Bernstein; Paul W. Daisey, Jr.; Erich M. Daub; Julie P. Heizer; William J. Kelly; Donald L. LaFond; Robert B. Moore; Harvey J. Muller; James L. Phillips; Carl P. Rebele; William J. Siwak, Jr.,; David C. Taylor; Lt. Charles D. Tyler.

Harvey J. Muller, Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator

c/o State Highway Administration
707 North Calvert St., Room 512
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 545-5656
1-800-252-8776 (toll free, hotline recording)

In Maryland, bicycles became a concern of the General Assembly in the first year of this century. At that time, the Board of Sidepath Commissioners was authorized to build sidepaths along country roads for the use of bicycles (Chapter 658, Acts of 1900).

The present-day Bicycle Advisory Committee was formed in December 1991 (Chapter 624, Acts of 1991). The Committee advises State government agencies on funding bicycle-related programs; public education and awareness of bicycling activities and safety; and other bicycling issues. Presently, the Committee has six subcommittees which consider safety and education; law and enforcement; commuting; trail issues; promotion and economic development; and legislative affairs and funding.

Appointed by the Governor, the Committee has thirteen members (Code Transportation Article, sec. 21-1213).

Maryland Independent Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives