Parris N. Glendening, Governor (410) 974-3901
Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, Lt. Governor (410) 974-2804
John T. Willis, Secretary of State (410) 974-5521

Sue Fryer Ward, Secretary of Aging (410) 767-1102
Henry A. Virts, D.V.M., Secretary of Agriculture (410) 841-5880
Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget & Management (410) 974-2114
James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D., Acting Secretary of Business & Economic Development (410) 767-6301
Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools (410) 767-0462
Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment (410) 631-3084
Eugene R. Lynch, Secretary of General Services (410) 767-4960
Martin P. Wasserman, M.D., J.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene (410) 767-6505
Patricia J. Payne, Secretary of Housing & Community Development (410) 514-7005
Alvin C. Collins, Secretary of Human Resources (410) 767-7109
Gilberto de Jesus, Secretary of Juvenile Justice (410) 780-7878
John P. O'Connor, Acting Secretary of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (410) 333-6200
John R. Griffin, Secretary of Natural Resources (410) 260-8101
Stuart O. Simms, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5004
Col. David B. Mitchell, Secretary of State Police (410) 653-4219
David L. Winstead, Secretary of Transportation (410) 865-1000
Patricia S. Florestano, Ph.D., Secretary of Higher Education (410) 974-2971
Ronald M. Kreitner, Director of Planning (410) 767-4500

Contact: Major F. Riddick, Jr., Chief of Staff

State House
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-3570
fax: (410) 974-5735

The Governor's Executive Council originated as the Governor's Advisory Council in 1922. It was reorganized in 1969 as the Governor's Executive Council. The Council is known as the Governor's Cabinet. Meeting weekly, it coordinates, directs, and supervises State government.

The Council is comprised of twenty-two ex officio members. They include the Governor, who chairs the Council; the Lieutenant Governor; the Secretary of State; the secretary of each principal department of the Executive Branch of State government; the State Superintendent of Schools; the Secretary of Higher Education, the Director on Aging, and the Director of Planning. The Governor may appoint an executive secretary for the Council.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives