Joint statutory committees are created by act of the General Assembly. Their duties, membership, and tenure are specified either in the Annotated Code of Maryland or the Laws of Maryland. Most commonly, these committees are composed of an equal number of members from the Senate and House of Delegates.

Presently, the General Assembly has twelve joint statutory committees: Legislative Policy; Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review; Budget and Audit; Chesapeake Bay Critical Areas; Federal Relations; Health Care Delivery and Financing; Legislative Ethics; Management of Public Funds; Spending Affordability; Vehicle Emissions Inspection; Welfare Reform; and Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight.

Legislative Committees

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives