Benjamin L. Cardin, Chair (appointed by Senate President & House Speaker)

Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: Sherry F. Bellamy; Jervis S. Finney; Ray Jenkins; Helen L. Koss; Shirley Peterson; Deborah Povich; Stuart O. Simms; John R. Stierhoff.

Ex officio: Clarence W. Blount, Senate Majority Leader; John A. Hurson, House Majority Leader; F. Vernon Boozer, Senate Minority Leader; Robert H. Kittleman, House Minority Leader; Michael J. Collins, Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics; Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., House Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics.

Counsel: William G. Somerville; Jeremy M. McCoy.

Dept. of Legislative Services
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3870

The Special Study Commission on the Maryland Public Ethics Law was formed by the Senate President and the House Speaker in April 1998 (Joint Resolution no. 2, Acts of 1998). The Commission is to examine the Maryland Public Ethics Law as it applies to the General Assembly. The Commission will consider the relationship of legislators with businesses, lobbyists, and State agencies; and the use by legislators of State-provided offices, staff, equipment, and other resources. The Commission also will examine ways in which the title and prestige of office are used; conflict of interest issues; requirements for disclosure of interest; and the authority and powers of the Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics.

The Commission will report to the Senate President and House Speaker by February 1, 1999.

Legislative Committees

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives