State House, Annapolis, Maryland. Photo by James Hefelfinger
(Hefelfinger Collection, MSA SC 1885-763-3, Maryland State Archives)

Executive Branch

Legislative Branch

Judicial Branch

Local Government

Organizational Charts

Executive Branch. The Governor, elected by popular vote for a four-year term, is the chief executive of the State. Sixteen cabinet-level executive departments oversee most State agencies.

Legislative Branch. The General Assembly, Maryland's bicameral legislature, consists of a 47-member Senate and a 141-member House of Delegates. As of January 1998, the Senate has 32 Democrats and 15 Republicans; the House of Delegates includes 100 Democrats and 41 Republicans. Annually, the General Assembly convenes to enact laws on the second Wednesday in January for a 90-day session.

Judicial Branch. The Judiciary consists of four court divisions: the Court of Appeals, the Court of Special Appeals, the Circuit Courts, and the District Court of Maryland.

Local Government. Of the 50 states, Maryland is among those with the fewest number of local governments. Local government is found in Maryland's 23 counties; 157 towns and cities (including Baltimore City); and special taxing districts, which are created by State, county and municipal governments.

Maryland Constitution
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives