Annapolis is the State capital of Maryland. Located on the Severn River in Anne Arundel County, Annapolis is not only the center of Maryland government but also home to the U.S. Naval Academy, and St. John's College whose curriculum is based, in large part, upon the study of the classics.


From the founding of Maryland in 1634, however, St. Mary's City was the first seat of Maryland's colonial government. In 1694, the General Assembly designated Anne Arundel Town as the capital and, in February 1694/5, the government moved there. After Queen Mary's death in December 1694, Anne Arundel Town was renamed Annapolis for her sister, the heiress apparent, Princess Anne.

Historic St. Mary's City still can be visited today. In southern Maryland, it is located in St. Mary's County.
State House, Annapolis, Maryland. Photo by James Hefelfinger
(Hefelfinger Collection, MSA SC 1885-763-2, Maryland State Archives)

Map of Government Buildings in Central Annapolis
Maryland Municipalities (by name)
Maryland Municipalities (by county)
Maryland Counties
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives