State bridges are operated and maintained by the Maryland Transportation Authority of the Department of Transportation.

Chesapeake Bay Bridge. The William Preston Lane, Jr., Memorial Bridge (Chesapeake Bay Bridge) spans 4.2 miles across the middle of Chesapeake Bay. Opened in 1952, the Bridge transformed access to the eastern shore of the State. A second parallel Bay Bridge opened in 1973.

Thomas J. Hatem Memorial Bridge. This bridge spans the Susquehanna River from a point near Perryville in Cecil County to a point near Havre de Grace in Harford County. The bridge opened in 1940 as the Susquehanna River Toll Bridge. In 1986, it was renamed for Thomas J. Hatem (1925-1985) who represented Harford County in the House of Delegates from 1955 to 1958. The Hatem Memorial Bridge is 1.4 miles long.

Francis Scott Key Bridge. The 1.6-mile long Francis Scott Key Bridge spanned Baltimore Harbor in 1977.

Governor Harry W. Nice Memorial Bridge. The Governor Harry W. Nice Memorial Bridge crosses the Potomac River from Charles County to the state of Virginia. The Bridge opened in 1940 as the Potomac River Toll Bridge. In 1967, it was renamed for Harry W. Nice (1877-1941) who served as governor of Maryland from 1935 to 1939. The Nice Memorial Bridge is 1.7 miles long.

Maryland Transportation
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 1998

July 10, 1998   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 1998 Maryland State Archives